Basil Rathbone: His Life and Films (ebook)

You'll get 1 PDF

Buy this
  • $9.95
100% SSL Secure


To the average moviegoer, the name of Basil Rathbone conjures up an image of fiction’s most famous detective – Sherlock Holmes. Certainly, of all the actors who have played the Baker Street sleuth, his interpretation was definitive.

Yet, for cinema aficionados, the actor was much more than the personification of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s character. He began his film career in 1921 in Innocent, which was one of several silent films in which he appeared. He was also Mr. Murdstone in David Copperfield, Richard III in Tower of London, Louis XI in If I Were King, Tybalt in Romeo and Juliet, Captain Estaban Pasquale in The Mark of Zorro, Sir Guy of Gisbourne in The Adventures of Robin Hood, and Baron Wolf von Frankenstein in Son of Frankenstein.

He portrayed Sherlock Holmes in fourteen Hollywood films made between 1939 and 1946 and in an Old Time Radio series. His later career included roles on Broadway, as well as television work. He received a Tony Award in 1948 as Best Actor in a Play.

Out-of-print for over thirty-five years, Michael B. Druxman’s Basil Rathbone: His Life and His Films is a carefully researched work that thoroughly examines the life and professional career of one of Hollywood’s most respected character actors. This new edition includes an Introduction by the author, a Biography, Filmography, and more than 250 rare photographs.